top of page

What is a Dosha?

The Ancient science of Ayurveda recognizes the five elements of Ether, Air, Fire, Water and Earth as having a direct effect on the physical, the mental and the Spirit of an individual. These elements are grouped into three basic metabolic types known as Dosha. The three Dosha are called Vata, Pitta and Kapha.


Ether + Air

Vata is the subtle energy associated with movement — this dosha governs the nervous system and is involved with all movement from large motor movements to blinking your eyes. Composed of Space and Air, Vata is the most subtle of the three dosha, having no structure or boundaries. Vata is seated in the colon and also governs all the empty spaces including the nasal passages, veins/arteries and intestines.


Fire + Water

Pitta expresses as the body’s metabolic system - consisting of fire and a little bit of water, this dosha governs digestion, absorption, assimilation, nutrition, metabolism and body temperature. Seated in the large intestine, pitta also governs the blood, liver, eyes and skin.


Water + Earth

Kapha is lubrication and structure - consisting of the earth and water elements, kapha is the most hearty and stable of the doshas. That being said, it is also the most stubborn. Seated in the heart, this energy is responsible for lubricating the body and building muscle and bone. Kapha governs all the fluids in the body including mucous, lymph and reproductive fluids and is responsible for immunity.

Lisa Scarborough

Ayurvedic Health Counselor at The Beauty of Ayurveda

Blending more than 35 years of experience in the health and beauty industry with a deep passion for the profound healing science of Ayurveda, Lisa finds joy in helping others to develop a personal wellness plan using individual consultation, Ayurvedic body therapies and private yoga sessions. Lisa believes that beauty is revealed when one aligns her true self with the wisdom of Mother Nature.

13 views0 comments


bottom of page